The Twits by Roald Dahl

image

As a child I loved reading Roald Dahl books so I couldn’t wait until Monkey was old enough to appreciate not just the stories themselves but the humour and of course the iconic illustrations by Quentin Blake.

The Twits was first published in 1980, the publication we have was published by Puffin Books in 2001.

The Twits are not a very nice couple, who are revolting, never wash, trap birds in their garden for bird pie and they dislike children. They play horrible tricks on each other such as when Mrs Twit cooks Mr Twit a meal but it’s not made with what it should normally be made from (sorry for the vagueness but I truly don’t want to give too much of the story away if it’s not one you’re familiar with).

Although Mr and Mrs Twit often play tricks on each other they meet their match when they are tricked by the funny Roly-Poly bird and the Muggle-Wump monkeys.

image

Monkey as expected laughed a lot while I read this to him and kept asking to look at the illustrations. At the start of this edition Quentin Blake’s illustrations of each character are displayed with their names useful as a handy reminder. Monkey gave this story 10/10.

image

Reading this to Monkey brought back memories of myself reading this story when I was a little older than Monkey is now. I remember I enjoyed it then and I enjoyed reading it again for Monkey. It’s the unexpected tricks and the usual humour from Dahl that makes you want to keep reading the story, in fact unlike many bed time stories I looked forward to reading at bedtime and often read more than one chapter, I give this story 10/10 and will look forward to reading it again for Boo when she’s older.

Tagged , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

